Victory in top-seven shut-out

13. August 2015 Zurück zur Artikelübersicht »

Marco Wittmann is back on the top step of the podium for the first time since the 2014 race at the Nürburgring. The BMW Team RMG driver finished first in the number 1 car: after 40 minutes and one lap, Wittmann took the chequered flag as the winner of race one in Zandvoort.

The reigning DTM champion bounced back with impressive performances in qualifying and in the race. Only fellow BMW driver Augusto Farfus was faster than Wittmann in qualifying. “Gustl” took pole position, with Wittmann just 0.008 seconds slower than the Brazilian. In total, seven of the eight BMW drivers qualified in the top ten, making it the best qualifying result for the manufacturer since returning to the series in 2012.

There was to be another historic result in the race itself: Wittmann got off to a perfect start in the Ice-Watch BMW M4 DTM in the opening race in Zandvoort. By the time the field reached the first corner, the young German had already taken the lead. A crash involving Mercedes driver Paul Di Resta at the end of lap one saw the safety car take to the track for four laps. However, Wittmann gave the opposition no chance at the re-start, and pulled away from the chasing pack. BMW driver António Félix da Costa did manage to close in on Wittmann towards the end of the race, but the defending champion was able to fend off the attacks from the BMW Team Schnitzer driver to cross the finish line in first place. What happened behind him was a first in the DTM: BMW occupied the top seven positions. A top-seven shut-out in Zandvoort – a historic day.

“I seemed to have better grip at the start. I was able to out-accelerate Augusto and control the race from the front,” said Wittmann. “It got a bit dicey towards the end, as António had got pretty close to me and put me under pressure – especially as he was able to use DRS. But I held on for the win. Now it is time to celebrate!”